The Sounds of Silence (Charlottesville)

Sara K Stories

“Who is my neighbor?”

In essence, Jesus answers that your neighbor is the man who looks nothing like you, has nothing in common with you, and is lying in the middle of the road, bleeding and nearly dead.

And as I reflect on what it means to love my neighbors, especially the ones who live way over in Charlottesville, I can’t help but think how fitting it is that at church today, we talked about compassion and the Parable of the Good Samaritan.

And as I wished my roommate a safe flight this morning, I couldn’t help but think how fitting it is that today, my best friend left to Washington D.C. to intern with Sojourners, an organization that is committed to racial and social justice, life and peace, faith in action.

It’s all so fitting because of the state of affairs in which we now find ourselves. Racism is…

View original post 461 more words

Leave a Reply

