asking in Jesus’ name

Even More Beautiful

IMG_4591

You may be like me and you’ve wondered what Jesus meant when He said:

“…I am going to the Father. Whatever you ask in my name, this I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.” (John 14:12-13)

Jesus says that He’s leaving, and that in His absence the disciples are to ask the Father in His name, and that what they ask will be done. I understand most of that. But “ask in my name” is a phrase I don’t use very often. So I need a good definition:

Asking in the name of another means that the other authorized me and sent me to ask, and wants to be considered as asking himself; he wants the favor done to him.” (Andrew Murray, 1828-1917)

A visual to help

As I think about Murray’s definition, I imagine that “asking in the name of another” might look…

View original post 661 more words

Leave a Reply

