God’s Dream: Story of God

Journey to Matthew

My son Cooper was born and lived three and a half years of his life in Africa. He is five now and is wrestling with the fact that his skin color is manyshades darker than the rest of his family’s. He keeps running his hand up and down my arm and asking me, “Where can we go, so I can get skin like this?”

He’s not speaking with knowledge of the painful history of his skin color in our country yet. He just wants to be like his family. His identity is unique in our family. So he quietly asks me as we lay in bed before prayers:

“Why did God make me born in Africa?”

“Why did God put me in another mommy’s tummy?”

“Why did God make me?”

My five-year-old needs to know his life was on purpose and for a purpose. He wants to know he…

View original post 247 more words

Leave a Reply

